Welcome to the Story of a Homeschooling Family!

Easy. Simple. Those are words that do NOT describe homeschooling. It is a path that has its ups and its downs. Fortunately, the ups far out weigh the downs! This is my family’s homeschooling story, and I hope you can enjoy sharing in our adventures. I will share our experiences in our Catholic Schoolhouse co-op, materials we use at home, our school routines, our family life routines, field trips, prayer, and more!

We are a family of 5: my husband, me, and our three children, ages 3, 6, and 7. Our children have been homeschooled since birth; we are our children’s first educators. I am a certified speech-language pathologist (SLP) and my husband is a math professor at a liberal arts Catholic college. We are a Roman Catholic family and we love Jesus! I welcome any and all homeschooling families to read this blog, whether you are Christian or not. There is something beautiful that unites homeschoolers. We have a lot in common and can learn from each other! We are blessed to live in a country where we parents can have the choice to educate our children at home for medical, religious, social, and/or other reasons. For us, a major reason to homeschool is because of my son’s severe asthma and allergies.

If you are considering homeschooling, I hope this blog can give you a taste of what it is like to homeschool. It’s not all roses…but there are many happy and amazing times. It is quite rewarding to watch your children learn to read, write, and say their prayers. Please post your questions, comments, and ideas for your family as you browse this blog!

If you are new to homeschooling, I hope you can find some inspiration for your homeschooling journey here at Story of a Homeschooling Family. Please post your ideas, what works for your family, and comment as much as you like!

If you are a veteran homeschool educator, please feel free to comment and share your advice with the rest of us! I feel comfortable sharing what we do for 2nd grade and younger, what our co-op is like, sharing what life is like in a mathematician’s home, and sharing my experiences with language development throughout the ages (I’m an SLP)…but I do NOT know it all. I don’t pretend to have all of the answers to homeschooling! I will share what works for us in our homeschooling story, but I would love to hear from you if you are a veteran homeschool educator. I would love to learn what has worked well during your homeschooling story!

As I share what we do in our home, I hope our stories can inspire and encourage you. We homeschooling parents need encouragement! I hope one of my family’s experiences can make you think, “I should try that!” or reflect and say, “That would not work for our family. I will try something different instead.”

We are not perfect, by any means. Your family has a story, too! Please feel free to add a comment any time when you find something that works for your family’s journey. We can inspire each other!

DSC03272

If you’ve ever wondered about homeschooling, or if you are currently homeschooling, I’d like to welcome you to the story of our homeschooling family!

In Christ,

Marie at Story of a Homeschooling Family

Leave a Reply

